MLK Jr. Scholarship Fund Prayer Breakfast Held

Local News Stories

ZANESVILLE, Ohio – Today is Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day and community members, administrators, government representatives, and students gathered this morning as the 26th Annual Martin Luther King, Jr. Scholarship Fund Prayer Breakfast took place in Zanesville. 21 high school students from all surrounding districts were presented with $500 scholarships in the name of Dr. King.

Kathy Brantley, Scholarship Committee Chair, says the goal of the program is to continue the mission of Dr. King by furthering the education of local students.

“The actual main idea was fostering economics and we are very proud that we had an opportunity to honor the Zanesville Muskingum County Chamber of Commerce and 21 wonderful students that will be continuing their education and going to college. One of the major things that Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. actually put an impact on was education. The key—he felt to making our country grow stronger in economics was to educate all.”

Jerzie Johnson, Scholarship Recipient from Bishop Rosecrans, says she feels grateful to have been given the opportunity in honor of MLK.

“The generosity of Scholarship Central Foundation means a lot to me; and it really is going to help me prepare for my future—and this scholarship in particular really just opens up a lot of ideals about diversity for me and my peers that we really never realized were there for us before.”

Kaleb Ihlenfeld, Scholarship Recipient from West Muskingum, feels King would be pleased with the program.

“I feel like he’d be so proud of what’s going on now; because we can come together as a community and just celebrate what his impact was on the world.”

In addition to Ihlenfeld and Johnson, students receiving scholarships included Kazia Barnes, of Caldwell; Tsigereda McClelland, Jodi Stoner, and Aaryan Vaishnav, of John Glenn; Kierra Beal and Jakob Plumme, of Maysville; Kayla Guerrieri and Trey Wilson, of Philo; Brianna Darden, Lucas Miller, and Minh-Chau Scott, of Tri-Valley; and Danielle Dupler, Kenzi Edwards-Suttles, Brailey Harris, Jesse Hill, RhaeLynn Hutzel, Aayla Mayle, Kaden Mayle, and Carlon Stevens of Zanesville High School.

Please follow and like us: