DeWine declares state of emergency in counties affected by June weather

Local News

COLUMBUS, Ohio–Ohio Governor Mike DeWine announced Monday that he has declared a state of emergency in 63 Ohio counties where severe weather caused serious highway damage in June.

The counties included in the proclamation from our area are Coshocton, Guernsey, Muskingum, Morgan, Noble, Perry and Licking counties.

The counties covered by the emergency declaration have suffered damage to roads and/or bridges from significant weather events in June that began with mild temperatures and significant rains which thoroughly saturated the ground causing dangerous roadway damage.

Governor DeWine said this emergency proclamation will allow the Ohio Department of Transportation and local governments to access federal emergency relief funds that are needed to help fix road damage caused by these weather events.