25th Annual Martin Luther King Scholarship Fund Prayer Breakfast

Local News

ZANESVILLE, Ohio – The 25th Annual Martin Luther King Scholarship Fund Prayer Breakfast took place on the morning of January 21st.

Community members filled the Worship Center in North Terrace Church of Christ to honor Martin Luther King Jr. and to celebrate the 15 students who received the $500 scholarship. Langstyn Jones, a senior at Zanesville High School, and Phillip Young, a senior at Tri-Valley High School, are among those students to have been chosen for this award focusing on book costs.

“I’ve been coming to this breakfast since I was two, I’m 18 now. I’ve only ever missed, it was when I was first born but I mean it’s great to be one of the people walking across the stage. I’ve always looked up to everybody walking across the stage and now that it’s my turn it just feels so amazing,” Jones said.

“I’m very appreciative. I’m thankful for everyone that got me here to this point especially my parents,” Young said.

Jones is going to Ohio University to study education and Young is planning to pursue a career in law enforcement. Kathy Brantley said she has been the MLK Chair since the very beginning and it is a dream come true to help these students.

“We have been truly blessed with students that are dedicated to their education and their future and we have had wonderful outcomes of students who have walked across our stage who have received scholarships and are now giving back to their community,” Bentley said.

If you are interested in donating to the scholarship, head to the Martin Luther King Jr. Scholarship Fund website or the Muskingum County Community Foundation website.

List of students who received a scholarship at the 2019 MLK Breakfast:
Kailie Chandler – Zanesville High School
Natasha Goins – Zanesville High School
Jakayla Greiner – Maysville High School
Jaylynn Greiner – Maysville High School
Shailyn Hill – West Muskingum High School
Langstyn Jones – Zanesville High School
Kiranjot Kaur – West Muskingum High School
Alena Mayle – Zanesville High School
Hannah Mayle – West Muskingum High School
Tesfanesh McClelland – John Glenn High School
Dylan Repuyan – Tri-Valley High School
Gabriella Torres – Zanesville High School
Kaleb Young – Zanesville High School
Kyra Young – Zanesville High School
Phillip Young – Tri-Valley High School